Brought to you by Newscorp Australia

David Warner is back on top after winning cricket’s Allan Border Medal as Perry also shines

Oliver Caffrey, February 10, 2020 6:00PM AP

Print Article

David Warner (right) accepts the Allan Border Medal on Monday night. Picture: Getty Images media_cameraDavid Warner (right) accepts the Allan Border Medal on Monday night. Picture: Getty Images


Reading level: green

An emotional David Warner has completed a stunning return to international cricket by claiming his third Allan Border Medal*, finishing a single vote ahead of Steve Smith.

The pair were banned from representing Australia for a year after the 2018 ball tampering* scandal*, only returning in June to the national team.

High scoring performances in the World Cup and Australia’s home Test summer allowed Warner (194) to edge out Smith (193) in Monday night’s thrilling count at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium.

Perry and Warner win big

Last year’s medallist Pat Cummins (185) capped off a consistent 12 months across all formats to round out the top three.

Warner choked back tears when delivering his acceptance speech, especially when it came to mentioning the support from his family and wife Candice.

“I had an absolutely horrendous Ashes. I didn’t really think I was a chance,” Warner said of winning Australian cricket’s top individual award.

2020 Australian Cricket Awards media_cameraEllyse Perry (left) winner of the Belinda Clark Award poses with David Warner, winner of the Allan Border Medal. Picture: Getty Images

Australian cricket’s other highest individual honour went to star women’s all-rounder* Ellyse Perry, who picked up her third Belinda Clark Award with 161 votes.

Perry’s dominant* Ashes series skyrocketed* her eight votes in front of last year’s winner Alyssa Healy (153), with Jess Jonassen third on 89.

“I’m incredibly flattered. You look at the contributions across the squad in the last 12 months, it’s been incredible from so many players,” Perry said. “It’s always lovely to know you’ve had an impact.”

Warner also picked up the Twenty20 international award, while Marnus Labuschange was rewarded for his stunning consistency since the Ashes Lord’s match to win his maiden Test player of the year award.

Limited-overs captain Aaron Finch (38 votes) finished ahead of Usman Khawaja (33) for the ODI player of the year.


  • ball tampering: altering the ball to gain an advantage
  • scandal: a shocking incident
  • all-rounder: able to bat, bowl and field extremely well
  • dominant: having power or control over something
  • skyrocketed: to rise rapidly


Dylan Alcott wins sixth straight Open title


  1. How many votes did David Warner score to win the AB Medal?
  2. Which other award did Warner win?
  3. Who won the highest individual female award?
  4. What incident forced Warner to be banned from the game for a year?
  5. Who was awarded Test player of the year?


1. Make a graph
Using the information in the text, draw a graph showing the voting for the top three players in the AB Medal and Belinda Clark Medal.

Time: allow 15 minutes for this activity
Curriculum Links: English, Mathematics

After reading the article, with a partner, highlight as many pieces of punctuation as you can find in green. Discuss how these are being used, where and how often. What level of the punctuation pyramid is the journalist using in this article?

HAVE YOUR SAY: Tell us what you think about David Warner winning the AB Medal.
No one-word answers. Use full sentences to explain your thinking. No comments will show until approved by editors.

Extra Reading in sport